A Burning Desire to Explore

Jill and I at my favorite place in the Caribbean - Coco Beach on St. Thomas -2009-
Jill and I at my favorite place in the Caribbean – Coco Beach on St. Thomas -2009-

My wanderlust has been growing inside me for as long as I can remember. Lately, it is getting to the point where I feel like it is about to erupt with a fury. I have witnessed the destruction of beautiful, wild places due to over development. The thought that some of the places on my bucket-list may never be the same (in the very near future) spreads a wave of panic through my mind. Nature brings me peace and makes me feel sane in a crazy world. I am happiest when I can escape to a deserted beach, hike through a maze of towering red woods and frolic in a vast open field of flowers.

what a beaut - 2009
what a beaut – 2009

My poor boyfriend, Kyle, is such a good sport. He listens to my ranting and raving (for the most part) with understanding and support. His one complaint is that I have different goals/dreams every week. What? I like variety. Some days, I feel I would be content just moving somewhere that I can plant my own garden and raise some chickens. Other days, I want to sell or give away every belonging that I own and travel the world indefinitely. The latter seems less reasonable considering I have a fur baby. Never-the-less, I day-dream about the nomad life.

The Devil's Bridge - Antigua
The Devil’s Bridge – Antigua

I have only been out of the country a couple of times. When I was nineteen, I went on a cruise from Puerto Rico through the Southern Caribbean with a friend and her family. This trip sparked my desire for International Travel. I had never gone overseas before. In fact, I didn’t really go on vacation period. At 21, I technically went on a party-cruise to Ensenada, Mexico. Buuuuut…. I didn’t even get off the boat. I was with a group of 20 models with Playboy and there were amazing DJ’s spinning all day (Avicii!!). It didn’t make much sense to explore at the time.

On our way to the Kandy Kruise! A trip that will forever be in my heart due to the lasting friendships it created.
On our way to the Kandy Kruise! A trip that will forever be in my heart due to the lasting friendships it created.

My most recent travels brought me to Moorea. A gorgeous island boasting green mountains and water with countless shades of blue and turquoise. It was absolute heaven. Their bananas made me question if I had ever tasted a real banana before (they were soooo sweet and yummy). I mingled with fish, turtles, crabs, sharks and stingrays. Kyle and I could not have had a more relaxing time. I will be adding more posts about our Christmas in Moorea very soon! 🙂

somewhere in the Caribbean...
somewhere in the Caribbean…

Please comment and let me know where your favorite destination is! 🙂

P1010498
Vanessa, my roommate on the Kandy Kruise and now a best friend. -2011-
CIMG2287
-2009-
CIMG2258
LOVED the brightly colored buildings in the Caribbean -2009-

4 thoughts on “A Burning Desire to Explore

Leave a Reply

