Safety Razors: A Zero-Waste Alternative for Shaving

I am so excited to share my zero-waste alternative for shaving!

Safety razors are metal razor handles that come with two to three pieces. To utilize a safety razor, one must purchase double edge razor blades. These blades are ridiculously cheap and made without any plastic. Win, win! Some people also purchase a shaving soap and brush to create a foamy lather. Shaving brushes are typically made with badger hair, so I opted out. I prefer cruelty-free options. Instead, I just use a natural bar soap with a small piece of loofah to create my lather.

I was slightly apprehensive about the safety razor experience, possibly due to the need for the word “safety” in the name. After a successful first time shave, I have no clue what I was trippin’ about. I found the experience no different from using a plastic disposable razor. The only noticeable difference was the alternating sides of the razor between strokes. I felt better using my safety razor because no guilt ensued. My legs are smooth and soft with no nicks in sight.

I am so satisfied with my purchase I am planning on buying these for all my loved ones over the holidays. They will make a great stocking stuffer. It is also fulfilling to contribute to the reduction of plastic cartridges and disposable razors in landfills. It is estimated that about 2 billion disposable razors end up in landfills each year. Major fail on our part.

If you are considering buying a safety razor I would check out local shops first. If you cannot find one in your area, Amazon.com has a great selection at reasonable prices. I bought a Merkur Long Handled Safety Razor on Amazon for $30. It comes with one blade. Many people suggest buying a sample pack of blades in order to find the type that suits your specific needs best. I bought a pack with seven different brands (five blades each, 35 blades total). The pack cost me around $16. Once you have found your preferred blade, you can buy bigger packs and the savings will really start to add up! Make a small investment now and you will save so much money in the long run.

Thanks for reading! Let’s Re-Prioritize! What do you use to shave?

2 thoughts on “Safety Razors: A Zero-Waste Alternative for Shaving

  1. Very informative blog entry! I’ve been thinking about buying one of these for a while now, I usually wax but since I’m now waste free I don’t really have a choice but to shave. How would you compare this to waxing? How is the regrowth of the hair. Thanks for sharing (:

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for reading @teaandgranola It is my understanding that the quality of the shave depends on the type of blade that is used. I haven’t had time to formulate my own opinion on the best blades yet because I have only used one so far. I have read lots of reviews on Amazon that say they prefer the Feather blades or Shark blades. I would check reviews on Amazon first when looking to buy double edged blades.

    I still wax the bikini area. Waxing is always a better option for length of time between maintenance. Have you tried making sugaring wax? I make it at home using only white sugar, lemon juice and water. You may use it hard without any strips or cut fabric strips out of an old shirt and wash them to re-use them. This is a great YouTube video with more information https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uKzCOiiesKY . I hope this helps! πŸ™‚ Have a lovely day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

