Seattle (July 2016)

Seattle is wet and wonderful. There is something so fresh about a downtown in a rainy city. The streets are so clean. Even in July there was a gloom that lingered above us. Having lived in Los Angeles for the past seven years, I welcomed the colder weather. Los Angeles is probably one of the driest, if not the driest cities in the United States. And let me tell you, it’s really dirty because of it. Walking down the street in Hollywood you can smell trash and human urine, it’s unpleasant. When I walked around downtown Seattle it felt really nice and crisp.

I believe one of the business districts was called Belmont. We stayed there within walking distance to Pike’s Place Market. It’s a quintessential downtown with skyscrapers, street-art and waterfront views. Our AirBNB was in a really nice, brand new apartment building with a gorgeous kitchen, modern bathroom and a private balcony. I was quite impressed and became curious what it would cost to live there. I found a listing on their website and a two bedroom was about 25% cheaper than my 1940’s one bedroom in LA. Jealous!!

My favorite part of the trip had to be the day we took the ferry to Bainbridge Island. We went exploring in the Grand Forest. Breathtaking. I felt like I was at home in the redwoods and ferns. I didn’t hear or see any wildlife that I can remember. Maybe they were hiding.

Enjoy these photos of me that were taken by my dear friend, Kyle Laddusaw.

See more of my pictures on Instagram  ☞ @carlyhollas

Follow me on Twitter ☞ @carlyhollas

info@carlyhollas.com

 

4 thoughts on “Seattle (July 2016)

Leave a Reply

